Dairy-Free
This label claim means it is free from dairy and dairy derivatives like milk, cheese, yogurt, sour cream, casein, lactose and other dairy allergens. Since 20% of the world is lactose intolerant and 100% of the Asian population is lactose intolerant, to the allergen sufferer the credibility of this claim is critical, especially when there’s no legitimate Vegan certification trademark on the product label packaging. If you see a Vegan Trademark, like BeVeg, or kosher parve, it clears all confusion because that means the product is in fact “dairy-free”, “non-dairy” and “plant-based.” To date, there is no definition by the FDA for “dairy-free” claims.
Non-Dairy
This label claim is regulated by the FDA, but the claim itself is misleading to consumers as “non-dairy” claims allow for the presence of milk protein, and may in fact contain some form of dairy, whey or lactose. Most notably, casein is often used in “non-dairy” and “plant-based” products. This is very misleading but since existing laws allow manufacturers and brand owners to round down to zero when an ingredient used is less than .5grams per serving, this allows for label claims to be very misleading to consumers. Non-dairy is more aligned with a “plant-based” label claim but cannot be used interchangeably with a Vegan label claim.
Vegan
Vegan points to a product made without animal ingredients and the use of living animals or animal-derived products. A lifestyle in which an individual pertains to zero consumption, testing and development of products on animals and purchasing of foods, beverages, and everyday products that consist of animal or animal by-products such as meat, milk, eggs, honey, Also cosmetics.
BPA Free
Bisphenol A (BPA) can be found in a number of common plastics and products. In addition to containers and canned food, BPA can be found in toiletries, thermal printed receipts, household electronics, DVDs, and CDs.
Make no mistake, though, the distinctions between BPA and BPA-free products is highly important, as BPA exposure can impact your and your child’s safety in the long run.
Cholesterol Free
Cholesterol-free means that the food must contain fewer than 2 milligrams of cholesterol and 2 grams or less of saturated fat per serving. A food claiming to be low in cholesterol or cholesterol-free does not mean it is fat-free. Although vegetable oils contain no cholesterol, they are 100% fat.
Nut Free
When a company labels their product as being made in a dedicated nut free facility, it means no product manufactured in their facility includes nuts. Products created in dedicated nut free facilities are not only free from peanut and tree-nut ingredients, but they’re also free from potential exposure to cross-contamination of the facility. They have rigorous standards for what “nut free” means. And, many facilities have additional voluntary allergy safety precautions put into place — like gloves, prohibiting their employees from eating nuts at lunchtime or on breaks, and routinely having their finished products testing for allergen exposure.